Tuesday, 5 June 2012

2012 Champions League Twenty20 (Teams)

The 2012 Champions League Twenty20 will be the fourth edition of the Champions League Twenty20, an international Twenty20 cricket tournament. It will be held from 10 to 28 October 2012.



The organisers were considering hosting the matches at five venues: KolkataChennaiHyderabadBangalore and New Delhi. The final would be played in either Chennai or New Delhi while the opening ceremony was likely to be in Kolkata. Matches played by the Chennai Super Kings would be held in Chennai. This was later put in doubt due to the possibility of monsoons and Durga Puja celebrations and the organisers are now considering South Africa as the host. The teams that qualified through the Indian Premier League were opposed to this idea as it would likely affect their revenue, which is dependent on television viewership.


Representation from Australia changes to teams from the Big Bash League, which replaced their previous premier Twenty20 tournament and features new city-based teams instead of the previous first-class teams.
This tournament will feature a team from Pakistan for the first time, as they will participate in the qualifying tournament. Pakistan's participation had not been considered for past seasons of the tournament due to the hostility between India and Pakistan since the 2008 Mumbai attacks. The attacks were also responsible for the cancellation of the planned first season of the tournament in 2008, for which a Pakistan team had qualified.

The tournament will feature a qualifying stage, introduced in the 2011 tournamentThe qualifying stage will be played from 10 to 12 October.


Thanks for spending your time here... I worth your words, feel free to comment...!!!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...